MedeA 3.1 Demonstration and Training

MedeA 3.1-- Precision at Scale

Step 1: Register for Training Session

Join the training for additional demonstrations and to get your questions answered.

In this session learn first-hand how to use the most exciting new features in the 3.1 release of the MedeA Environment including VASP 6, mesoscale simulation tools, and deformation simulations. Join Materials Design® scientists and MedeA® developers, Dr. David Reith and Dr. Ray Shan who will present a live demonstration highlighting these new features and capabilities in MedeA 3.1 and hold a live Q&A to answer any questions of yours. We will cover:

  • MedeA VASP6
  • Mechanical Properties of a Thermoset Through Mesoscale Simulations
  • Plastic Deformation and Fracture of Single-walled Carbon Nanotube with VASP and LAMMPS

The second part of the training session is dedicated to answering your questions that are raised during the webinar and the demonstration of the MedeA features.

The training session will be Tuesday, September 8, 2020.

USA / Europe: 9:30 am EST / 3:30 pm CEST
India / China / Japan/Korea: 7:00 pm IST / 9:30 pm CST / 10:30 pm JST

Register

Unable to attend at the session time?
We will be recording the session for on-demand access afterwards.

Step 2: Download Tutorials

Download related tutorials for your self-paced training.

Note: the tutorials listed below refer to features and functionalities corresponding to MedeA 3.1 release.

If you have older MedeA versions, you may not see the full capabilities listed in the tutorials.

Tutorials have a PDF document and may have a compressed (zip) folder with any related data files. Download both the PDF and the zip file to use the tutorial.

  1. Calculate the Color of Cadmium Selenide and Cadmium Sulfide (pdf, zip): Learn how to calculate the optical properties, such as color, of materials using an ab initio approach with MedeA VASP
  2. Mechanical Properties of a Thermoset Through Mesoscale Simulations (pdf, zip): Learn how to predict mechanical properties of a thermoset through mesoscale simulations
  3. Plastic Deformation and Fracture of Single-walled Carbon Nanotube (pdf, zip): Learn how to set up and run plastic deformation and fracture simulations with MedeA Deformation

Some introductory tutorials if you are new to MedeA:

  1. Getting Started with MedeA (pdf): Getting to know the MedeA Environment.
  2. Introduction to MedeA VASP (pdf, zip): Learn how to set up and run VASP first principles calculations with MedeA.
  3. Introduction to MedeA LAMMPS (pdf): Learn how to set up and run LAMMPS molecular dynamics simulations with MedeA.
  4. Mesoscale Simulations of Water and Octane (pdf, zip): Learn how to set up and run a mesoscale simulation of a mixture with MedeA

Step 3: Work through the tutorials

Take notes on the questions that you may have.

Step 4: Attend the training session

If your registration is approved, you will receive a link to the session. Be sure to add it to your calendar!

Bring your questions!